List o’ Thangs

Things I have learned since we last conversed*:

1. I really, really dig me some raw beets. Dice those suckers up and call it a day. Crunch.

2. If you only get one hour of sleep on a school night because you can’t stop talking to your best friend, no one will have sympathy for you when you complain about being tired. Just trust me.

In addition, your subsequent attempts to sleep on public transportation when you’re en route back to wherever you’re going will likely result in you waking up with a foreign woman sitting next to you scowling at your open mouth and drool. SCHWEET √

3. Giving a 20-minute long presentation when in the nearly-inebriated state indicated above is one of the hardest feats you’ll ever come across. Like afterwards, enter the Iron Man competition or something and tell me it ain’t a piece of cake compared to the presentation you just fought your way through, tooth and nail.

4. Sometimes the reason you’re miserable in your seemingly-awesome life is because you’re not living for you. At the end of the day, you’re the only constant (besides God, I believe) that’s lingering. Or that cares. If that’s too morbid for you, I’m sorry. 

Scratch that, I couldn’t care less because morbid things are very often true.

5. You might have an infinite capacity to love, but that goes hand in hand with an infinite capacity to become hurt (by yourself, by others, by the regrettably-empty strawberry frosting container in your cupboard, they can all do it to ya, man.) It’s human nature to love easily and be hurt easily, and if you’re a persistent motherfucker like me, you can bet you’re going to spend a lot of your young romantic life in severe pain. Cool, so enjoy that y’all

Like I said, morbid things are often true, and I think 4 and 5 classify as both.

 

Love, sunshine, blessings and smooches til next we meet,

Christina M. Hughes

 

*In no particular or chronological order because there isn’t anything about that in the job description for writing lists.

Also some of these things are about root vegetables and others are deep emotionally-stirring factoids so there’s that

 

I know you've got something to say.. Spill!